Is Getting Up Early Still a Key to Success?

Put progress first

Gregory D. Welch
6 min readJul 21, 2020

Getting up early is an extreme sport for me. I get up everyday at 4:00 AM. I never sleep in or take a day off, and truthfully, not even sure I could if I wanted to.

I’m already on my third cup of green tea (with a hint of mint) before the 5 AM club is even called to order.

Before 5 AM even comes around, I’ve already fully gotten my day going, having gotten ready, meditated, written in my journal, watched some motivational videos and began to lay out the day’s next steps.

But, I’m not special, and neither is my process. It’s just what works for me. The real question from all of this is, what works for you? What do your keys to success look like? And the question that probably stopped you from scrolling, do you have to be a morning person to be successful?

Let’s take a closer look and dive right in.

Giving the first of my day

What I love about getting up extra early is that it isn’t easy, that it sometimes kind of hurts. This lets me know I’m giving something meaningful to the cause. That isn’t to say you have to do things that are unhealthy to your mind or body for them to really count, not at all, but it is kind of like exercise. When you push yourself to grow, it should…

--

--

Gregory D. Welch

I Ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Innovative Founders & Digital Marketers going from Analog to Augmented Content | AI Strategist & Ghostwriter